A snake in the grass…

My secondary love interest in the Saga of EvilPants is turning out to be quite the dastardly bastard.

Initially, he was going to be a soft-hearted, smitten kitten. Right now, he’s attempting to force himself on my FMC while tossing off bon mots about her virtue, before she conks him about the head with his own weapon.

What is this need I have to make everything darker than it has to be? Is it just so I can lean back, sigh and think, “Well, at least I haven’t been imprisoned by a psycho killer who turns out to be my father!”? (Note: this does not actually happen in my WIPs. No need to thank me.)

I don’t know. What I do know is that I plain and simple like writing dark stuff. I’m a pretty cheerful type, so my mom is in for a hilarious surprise if she ever reads one of my books (also, because of the poarn). I like watching my characters fight against impossible odds and lose. Or ‘win’, where a win means surviving, even though everything else has been taken away from them. That’s not to say that every WIP I have is doom and gloom, but advance warning to anyone who will read my stuff at some point: there’s a fair bit of misery in most.

Anyway. Back to Sir M and his wily deception. I’ve struggled with this character more than I did with my FMC and MMC. I wondered what would make the story stronger. A nice, upstanding sort who truly and genuinely loved my heroine, or someone with a hidden agenda? To tell you the truth, I’m still not sure. A nice, upstanding fellow would provide a nice counterweight to Lord EvilPants himself for a while. But the character itself would be less interesting. On the other hand, having two bad guys in the story is intriguing on another level. Lord EvilPants starts out wearing the Pants of Evil with pride, but gradually softens. Sir M starts out wearing the White Pants of Virtue, but gradually his true motives are revealed.

So I could go either way, but I chose the road that would add the most interest along the way. That’s why Emma is currently fighting off a bloke twice her size. You’re welcome, Emma.

4 responses to “A snake in the grass…

  1. Is it possible to make the upstanding citizen both nice and as having a secret, dastardly plan/personality? By the sound of it he’s kind of gotten that already; nice in public, rapist in private. Leading a dual life, essentially. Another question is if you want him to be sympathetic or liked; rapists in fiction tend not to be, and the effort is usually horrible. The ‘best’ attempts I’ve seen are Tyrion and Robert Barethorn from Game of Thrones. Tyrion is one of the more likeable characters, but seeing as how I hate most of them, that isn’t saying much.

    • He has Reasons. They… just don’t make him more sympathetic 😉 Also, I forgot to mention Emma’s own emotional journey, which nicely ties in with the removing of Sir M’s Pants of Virtue!

Leave a Reply

